Ivy league chances

im a current sophomore

i had two accelarated classes and 3 honors classes in freshmen year and got Bs and one C (honors class)

i currently have three accelerated classes and 2 honors classes

junior year i will have 3 ap classes and the rest are honors

senior year ill have all ap classes

do i have a chance for ivy league or any top university or not

Any patents? Nobel prizes? Olympic medals? If not, it’s going to be a long shot. But maybe you do have stellar ECs and personal qualities that will help you stand out?

What are your grades this year? Do you have an upward trajectory from freshman year? If so, some colleges are more forgiving of freshman year slip-ups if you regain your balance and excel the following three years.

4 Likes

Those Bs and that C won’t sink your chances. Nor will straight As guarantee you a seat.

The Ivy League schools all have very low acceptance rates because they get far more applicants than they can accept. So don’t focus on just these schools.

And “top university” depends on what you’re interested in studying.

4 Likes

You are just finishing your sophomore year in high school. When you get that end of year GPA, it will be helpful. Your junior year end of year GPA will be even more helpful. If you take the ACT or SAT, that will help too.

Right now…you have very insufficient information to even guess…but I will say…even with perfect stats, the schools in the Ivy League reject more students than they accept. No guarantees.

3 Likes

What is an “accelerated class”? Does this just mean that you are taking courses that are usually for students a grade ahead of you? If so…not sure that matters at all. But your grades will.

1 Like

For some context, at Brown - which isn’t the most selective Ivy - the SAT range for admitted students who submitted SAT scores last year was 1500 (25th percentile) to 1560 (75th percentile) and 93% of those accepted were in the top 10% of their HS graduating class.