Joining a sorority as an exchange student at Wisconsin - Madison

I’m currently a student at uSyd (Australia) who has been accepted for a yearly international exchange to the University of Wisconsin - Madison, starting this Fall. I am keen to embrace the ‘all-american’ university experience and with this have always adorned the idea of joining a sorority.
As an Australia I’m not familiar with the terms/timeline/requirements of recruitment so basically my questions are,
Do sororities recruit exchange students?
And if so, what is the process?

Lastly, do upperclassman get involved in the Greek social life or is it more so for freshman/sophomores? I will be a junior

The participation in Greek life at UW is very low- around 10%. Therefore most students ignore it. You can have a fantastic experience at a great university without a sorority. I believe they are more common in the south. There are so many things to do and activities available you do not need a sorority for your American U experience. I would not bother with the limitations of trying to belong to a small group.

Thank you! Despite football season tailgating… does social activity slow down with the cold weather

If you are interested in exploring Greek life, then explore it. Here is the link that includes social media contacts and other information. It is clear through reading many posts, by the above poster, they are not a fan of Greek life. While it isn’t for everyone and certainly not critical to a fulfilling UW experience, it is a choice like any of the other 900+ student organizations. You get out of it what you put in to it.
https://fsl.cfli.wisc.edu

Sorry about this multiple post, phone went haywire.