Leopold vs. Dejope

<p>Hey everyone. I'm an incoming freshman that is planning to major in Biology and I'm still deciding which residence hall I want as my first pick. It's between Dejope and Leopold. Can anyone give me any insight on these dorms. Is it mostly a freshman dorm or an upperclassman dorm? What are the type of people that live in these dorms?</p>

<p>All dorms available to freshmen are at least 50% freshmen (and most returning residents are sophomores so the dorms will have plenty of people close to you in age and experiences). People like you choose the same dorms that interest you. Everyone has the same interest- being at UW. Otherwise you will find diverse majors and interests no matter which dorm you choose. btw- once you are on campus you will discover the many different Biology majors available to choose from. Your major doesn’t matter in choosing your dorm. You need to check out whatever info you can on the Res Halls website for the nuances that make any difference to you. Both will work well, rank them 1-2 and then other dorms you like in descending order of preference.</p>

<p>Dejope and Leopold are the two “nicer” dorms on the Lakeshore side of campus, but as a product of their design, they do not cultivate community the way some of the “dumpy” dorms do. </p>

<p>With Dejope and Leopold, you will get an interspersed mix of sophomores and freshmen, with very few if any juniors and seniors who aren’t staff members. I personally think this is a major detraction. This year I lived in an all-freshmen dorm and also eventually made friends with some who lived in these nicer dorms with higher ratios of sophomores to freshmen. My integration into the University was a lot better than theirs. There are a few reasons for this.</p>