Life in the Corps

<p>Hello, I'm a prospective student trying to choose between accepting an ROTC scholarship to either Tech or UVA and simply going to tech as a regular student. I have a couple questions about the Corps that I was hoping could be answered:</p>

<ol>
<li> What are the uniform requirements and when do you get to wear civilian clothes? How does this change throughout the phases?</li>
<li> How much free time do you have to yourself wear you can hang out with students outside of the Corps, work out, or just relax? Would it be possible to have a serious relationship with someone?</li>
<li> How many friends do you have outside of the Corps compared to friends in the Corps?</li>
</ol>

<p>Any and all help/advice is appreciated. Thanks</p>

<p>I was not in the Corps but I lived on Upper Quad where the Corps dorms are, and I knew alot of cadets, and my son was considering whether to do the civilian option for the corps. So, here’s just a starter… First, check out the New Cadet Manual … it will go a long way to answering your questions. <a href=“https://www.vtcc.vt.edu/resources/manuals/new-cadet-week-manual.pdf”>https://www.vtcc.vt.edu/resources/manuals/new-cadet-week-manual.pdf&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;