Major Change

<p>Hi all! I will be attending Bama as a freshman in the fall. For the longest time, I have been attracted to a career in the field of law/international relations. Currently, my major is set to be Political Science. BUT I’m taking an anatomy course right now, and it has me thinking that I want to be a doctor. I’ve been looking up information on required courses for pre-meds and the MCAT, and it seems that most of these courses would be covered in the Biology Major. Anyone know hard it would be to double-major in something like Political Science and Biology? Or do a minor in either? </p>

<p>I’ll be coming to Bama with about 17 credits, but I do also really want to study abroad for a semester (I’m in the IHP) and I’ve been looking forward to learning Arabic. Any advice for me in general? Thanks so much!</p>

<p>Hi,</p>

<p>I have a son who is pre-med at Bama, so I have done a lot of investigation into the whole pre-med/med school requirements and prep.</p>

<p>If you want to change your major online, do so on MyBama…academics tab…down left column.</p>

<p>you can major in whatever you want…Bio, Chem, whatever. Actually, the Chem major also covers many of the pre-med req’ts because there are 4 chem req’ts for pre-med. Gen Chem I and II, and OChem I and II. </p>

<p>Do you have a scholarship to Bama? If so, which one?</p>

<p>Which 17 credits are you coming in with? Are they dual credits or AP?</p>

<p>You will want to schedule your classes so that the fall of senior year is light…preferably with school only on 2 or 3 days…or no classes on Fridays…to have time for med school interviews. </p>

<p>If needed, you can take some summer classes at a CC, but don’t take any pre-med pre-reqs or courses for your major(s) at a CC. Med schools don’t like that. But, if want to take a sociology class or an art history class at a CC to make more room in your schedule, then fine.</p>