Michigan Math and Science Scholars

Hi,
I am currently a freshman who recently found out about the MMSS program. I’ve been searching all over the web for stats of those accepted into MMSS but have found nothing. If anyone can help provide me with some of your stats or if you can let me know how hard it is to get accepted, it would be greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone has tips on how they wrote their personal statement, please share them. Thank you!

hey :)) im a sophomore and im also submitting an application for the MMSS program. tbh idk anything ab the stats for the program. i actually havent started my application but its due in around a week :// what sessions are u thinking about joining?

Hi!!
I was thinking of taking Art and Mathematics or Data, Distributions, and Decisions in session 2. I am also interested in forensic physics but I have no prior knowledge in physics so I’m not sure if I’m well suited for that class. Hbu?

my first choice would be Relativity: A Journey through Warped Space and Time :))

I submitted my application 2 weeks ago and yesterday I got a notice that I was accepted to my first choice session 1 and second choice session 2. I’m happy to answer any questions!

my son did this program about 8 or 9 years ago, he really enjoyed it!

1 Like

omg what did u write in u personal statement? i havent started mine and idk how to start

also, what programs did you choose? :))

Wow that’s amazing!! I’m thinking of attending session 2! What course are you going to take? Also, did you have any prior experiences that you included? I have some experience in math competition but not much in science. I don’t really know what to include in my personal statement.

I’m go assigned to Graph Theory for Session 2 and “Hex and the 4 Cs” for Session 1. I wouldn’t take the personal statement too seriously, I just wrote about why I wanted to attend MMSS. I applied for MMSS as a safety option because the acceptance rate is ~40%.