My chances at UC

I’m a sophomore in high school currently and I have 2 Cs this year and got straight B’s last semester. This lowered my gpa significantly, from a cumulative gpa of 4.07 weighted to a 3.76 weighted. I got a 3.33 weighted gpa last semester. I took the PSAT and got a 1130 on it. I’m in track&afield, tennis, science Olympiad, MESA, FBLA, and a service club. I’m also a tutor at a local library and in a biomedical research class. I’m doing badly second semester since I think I’ll end up with a C again in trig/precalc. I am taking English honors, chem honors, trig honors, and ap world history currently. So what are my chances in getting accepted into UCI, UC Davis and UC Santa Barbara? I don’t think I can get into any other UCs…

My class rank is 150 out of 612, so roughly top 25% of my class. I joined all my extracurriculars during freshman year except science Olympiad and tutoring. Can I still get accepted to these UCs even though I got C’s ?

what’s your UC GPA? you’re still a sophomore, so you have junior year to bring yourself back up. Make sure you study hard for the SAT or ACT, so it can balance out your GPA should it not increase as high as you want it to be by the end of junior year. It’s honestly too early to tell your chances, considering you haven’t finished junior year yet.

My UC gpa is 3.75 weighted. I appreciate your feedback. :slight_smile:

The 3 schools that you mentioned have virtually the same admissions rate and criteria, even though the data would show that UCSB would be the most difficult to get accepted into, UC Davis would be the easiest, and UCI would be somewhere in the middle, there is no logical scientific way to estimate your chances and all anyone can honestly say is that your odds of getting into one of those 3 schools are “decent” based on the information you have provided.

These are the rates for admitted applicants in 2016

UCB 17.5%
UCLA 18.0%
UCSD 35.9%
UCSB 35.9%
UCI 40.7%
UCD 42.3%
UCSC 58.4%
UCR 66.2%
UCM 73.7%