Need help for how to switch from bio to nursing!

I’m currently a freshman bio major attending UCSB, which does not have a nursing program. Because of AP classes I took in hs, I’m at sophomore standing with 78 units right now. I recently have been thinking of switching to nursing (goal is to eventually become a neonatal nurse), but am not sure how to go about it. I want to do nursing at a UC, but I looked up the admit rates for transfers and it’s incredibly low. I want to stay in California, and the only other option it seems are CSUs. This may sound superficial, but is it still considered “good” to major in nursing at a CSU?

I’m also not completely sure how to go about it and am wondering if anyone has advice. With the number of units I have right now, I can probably graduate with my bio major in 3 years instead of the typical 4, and then apply to an accelerated program to become a registered nurse. Or, (not completely sure about this?), I can switch to nursing ASAP (whenever that is, I’m not sure) assuming I can somehow get in somewhere, and go from there. Thanks for any advice!

1. Friend of mine graduated from Cal Poly Slo with a bachelors in Psychology. She took an accelerated program at CSU Northridge and was out within a year or two. She was fortunate enough to find a job in California right off the bat at a nearby hospital and is now working at one of the best hospitals in the nation in SF.

So yes, CSU’s are great for Nursing, so don’t be discouraged. You’ll find it often on this site or nursing forums, it does NOT matter where you get your RN or BSN as long as you passed your NCLEX exam and licensed to practice.