New Law Being Passed Which Will Limit International Student Acceptances for UCs?

I am a student studying at an international school in Japan and recently I’ve heard news that the American School in Japan’s counsellors have told their students to make their UCs automatic reaches unless they were American citizens. This statement was echoed by some teachers at a nearby prep school as well.
This was because apparently a new law is being passed to limit international student acceptances because Californians are tired of having too many international student in UC colleges and not enough opportunity for in-state applicants.

1. Is this law true or will be true soon in any shape or form?
  2. When will this law come into effect? I am applying as a senior this Fall 2019/Winter 2019… will it affect me? I am an international student (not American citizen)
  3. Which UCs will still be the easiest for me to get in with this law?

However, my own international school has not made any discourages to moving UCs to reach in our applications nor have I seen any news of this law online… really confused?!

There is already a CAP in place for non-residents at the UC’s instituted for the 2018-2019 school year.

Regents voted to cap nonresident undergraduate enrollment to 18% at UC Davis, UC Santa Barbara, UC Santa Cruz, UC Riverside and UC Merced. Four campuses that already exceed that level — UCLA, UC Berkeley, UC San Diego and UC Irvine — will be allowed to keep but not increase the higher percentage they enroll in 2017-18.

In April of this year, a new revision was being voted on to limit OOS/International applicants to 10% but did not pass.

Which UC’s will be easier admits as an International applicant will be dependent upon your overall application and stats. The UC’s with the most room for OOS/International students are UC Merced, Riverside and Santa Cruz.