Nursing program?

<p>I’m currently a BSN student at a university in NC. Graduation is growing closer, so I’ve been looking at possible MSN and DNP options. I have to admit, University of Alabama has caught my eye for several reasons.</p>

<p>I have a couple of questions that can hopefully be answered. I am planning on calling the school and the nursing department with more questions, but right now I’m just trying to shorten my list of 15+ grad schools.</p>

<p>What is the city of Tuscaloosa like? Are there a variety of stores/restaurants/retail in the area? The school I’m at right now only has a Wal-Mart and some fast-food chains. We have to drive over an hour to get to a city with a mall. Needless to say, it’s important to me that I don’t have to travel long distances to buy clothes, for example.</p>

<p>Along that same note, are there a variety of off-campus housing options? I’m not particularly fond of apartments, so I may wish to rent a small house. Is this do-able in Tuscaloosa?</p>

<p>How is parking for commuters? I am from a mountain school and accustom to walking unreasonable distances UP HILL of all things, so this isn’t necessarily a deal breaker. I’m just curious.</p>

<p>Is University of Alabama generous with aid? I will be working part-time, and my current undergrad loans will be deferred, but something/anything would be beneficial.</p>

<p>Finally, does anyone here happen to know much about Alabama’s reputation in regards to their nursing programs? Just from glancing at the faculty credentials, it appears that most if not all faculty members have a DNP or PhD. I would still be curious as to how any nursing students on here feel about their programs.</p>

<p>That’s all I can think of for now. Thanks for your time and help!</p>

<p>Hi-