Picking IB Subjects

I am picking my IB subjects next month and I want to make sure to have a workload that is challenging, but also not too much. The courses offered at my school are:

Math HL/SL/studs
Physics HL/SL
Chem HL
/SL
History HL/SL
Art SL/HL
Psych SL/HL
Econ HL
English HL
Spanish SL
French SL*

(* = classes I am not allowed to take)

I want to do a career with either politics/government, business, law, or maybe the medical field.
I am required to take Spanish SL and English HL. I am thinking about doing SL Math, SL Chem, HL Econ, and HL History. What do you think about my schedule? What classes would you suggest?

Hey! I’m a year 2 IB student! Its really difficult because you have so many possible careers. For medical field, however, i would suggest taking 2 sciences if you can (as group 4 and 6) because it will really help with the science foundation. I didnt take much of the same classes that you’ve chosen, but Ive heard that HL Econ and HL history are a lot of writing. I’m sorry I can’t be of much help, but I would suggest talking to your IB coordinator / college counselor.

advice i was given before entering the IB program was to choose the subjects you are good at or are dedicated to learn more about. Before dedicating yourself to a 2 year HL class, make sure it is something you enjoy learning about because you will be going in depth on that subject. econ is a relatively easy HL, probably the easiest. The science HLs are a little difficult if you do not have a good foundation in that specific subject. sl math is also relatively easy. English HL is a bit or work when it comes time for the iop but it is a really fun experience. I am currently taking psych HL. It is an easy A the first year, then it gets a little tough. it is a very interesting class tho.

based on your description of interests here is a schedule i would recommend:

English HL
History HL
Psych HL
Chem SL
Spanish SL
Math SL