Please help m, I cant take calculas in high school

hello
my name is Adam l and I am a freshman, right now I have algebra1 so in 10th grade I will have geometry, algebra2/trig in 11th, and pre-calculus in 12th. I really want to take calculus in high school but is cant. I talked to my counselor but she didn’t help, some lucky kids took algebra 1 in 8th but I didn’t know I could take algebra 1 in 8th so I didn’t. Calculus is the highest level of mathematics Do you guys have any idea how I can take calculus in high school, maybe some online calculus course accepted by colleges. Also does not take highschool impact the college I get into? if I took calculus in highschool do I have to retake it?
thanks
Adam

See if you can take geometry as a summer course.

5 Likes

Very few colleges require calculus in high school. While it will help at other schools, especially if you are planning to go into engineering, it isn’t necessary. While it is a bit early to think about this, do you know what are you planning to study in college and what level colleges you may be targeting?

3 Likes

I am thinking about computer science. I want to get into a good top college

okay I will ask my counselor

Calculus is not required to get accepted into many CS programs (my son just got into a number of them with precalc this senior year). That said, some smaller programs and more competitive schools like the top tiers will likely screen out someone without calculus, because of the level of competition.