Ppl Who Transferred To UW With Or Without An AA-DTA, How Were Your Credits Evaluated?

Hello Everyone, I hope that all of you are having a good day today.

I’m here to seek guidance and advice from you all on whether I should transfer to UW without completing an AA-DTA or complete it first and then transfer to UW.

Please let me briefly explain my situation. I am a Washington state resident at a WA community college, and I already have 88 credits so far. However, I still need to do four 5-credit classes to be able to graduate with an AA-DTA at this college. ( I transferred a few credits to this college from a university that I attended before, so that’s why I need to take more classes at this current college to satisfy their requirements). I know that UW only recognizes 90 credits for lower division courses, and I already have 88 credits now.

My goal is to apply for an open major at UW. Currently, I’m torn between transferring to UW without completing an AA-DTA or just completing it and then transferring to UW.

I’m torn because:

1. I already have close to 90 credits
  2. I’m just not sure how UW evaluates students’ transfer credits, I don’t know if completing an AA-DTA means that more credits will get counted toward the undergraduate degree or if UW evaluates transfer credits on course by course-by-course basis regardless of whether the student completed AA or not
  3. I’m also torn because I may need to relocate somewhere else soon, and I may not be able to go to the CC for a quarter. So, if I want to complete an AA first and then transfer, this whole process will take a long time.