Pre-Med Summer Opportunities?

Hi. I am currently a pre-med student and was wondering about any really useful or prestigious programs to apply for. I want to explore more within the medical field so, I was hoping to make use of my summer for that, but what having some difficulty in finding what programs exist for me to participate in (Interests: neuroscience, emergency medicine, hospice, psychiatry, public health, health-care policy, social work). I have heard of SHPEP and that it was really informative for some people but was hoping to learn if anyone had other similar programs that are also good for pre-meds! Thank you.

Useful is probably more important than prestigious.

1. Shadow some doctors.

2. Volunteer with needy populations.

3. Get certification as an EMT or CNA…you can then work in these areas which will be nice to show on your eventual medical school applications.

@WayOutWestMom any other suggestions?

2 Likes

My daughter immediately accessed her health provider advisors at her university.

She joined their club (separate from the advisors) that was divided into “specialties” and they provided a list of community resources and university lab and research positions that were available to undergrads.

These were “useful”. They weren’t a “canned” program. Why does it have to be prestigious?

She got in on her first try.

Do you fluently speak a desired language with patients? Spanish? Tagalog? Mandarin? American Sign Language, Russian? If not, you should.

2 Likes

This!!!

2 Likes

SHPEP is for students from historically medically underserved communities. (ethnic minorities, rural and inner city SES-disadvantaged ) To my knowledge there isn’t an equivalent program for college students from more privileged backgrounds.

AAMC has a database of summer enrichment programs for college students here: https://systems.aamc.org/summerprograms/getprogs.cfm