Purdue Honors College

Hey everyone, I was admitted to Purdue mid-January (woo-hoo) and finally came to the conclusion that I would like to continue my education there! I am majoring in Pharmaceutical Sciences, and had gotten admitted into the Honors College. My question is concerning the workload and overall experience of a student in the Honors College. I know Pharmaceutical Sciences is a very rigorous major, which will require a lot of studying, so would it be too much to place myself into the Honors College, too? I know a lot of engineering students tend to shy away from this option because their workload is no different, and taking more rigorous English and Humanities classes don’t appeal to them. If any other admitted students have been facing this dilemma, I would really enjoy hearing your experience, and how you came to the conclusion you did (if you did decide that is)? Also, I really want to enjoy my college experience. Believe me, I know I’m going to be spending a lot of time studying for Pharmaceutical Sciences, but will those Honors courses obliterate my social life? Thanks for the input!

Hey! Congrats on becoming a Boilermaker! I am currently in Honors Engineering at Purdue. I haven’t met many honors pharm students, but I know pharm is a very difficult major. The first year in the HC was the most difficult for me as we had to take specific honors engineering classes. I believe honors pharm is a smaller program, so I am not sure if you’ll have to take honors specific pharm courses your first year. Besides that, you’re able to really pick and choose what courses you want to take as honors, and it’s pretty easy to make a regular class honors with an honors contract. Also being in the HC, you’ll get to live in HCR which are very nice dorms, and you’ll get priority registration.