Question about college grants+FAFSA

<p>I'm a second semester sophomore and transferred from BU to the UM after first semester freshman year. So this is my third semester at UM. I never applied for grants or anything because my parents told me to not worry that much and our income bracket seemed sufficient. Well now I'm worried it's become more of a burden for them than they originally anticipated... long story short, they can probably still afford tuition but it's certainly a bit more of a burden than I want to impose for them. On paper however it probably seems like we're covered for tuition until I graduate.</p>

<p>Can I, at this point, apply through FAFSA (Free Application For Federal Student Aid) and have the chance of getting some kind of grants through my school that cut tuition costs that are merit based?</p>

<p>I've always gotten great grades in high school and same with college so far... i think I deserve some kind of merit based grant. But is it too late or what? And how much does the federal government look into everything related to your family, or do they mostly just forward it to the university to inspect (Seeing as how you have to enter your school code)? </p>

<p>My family is freaked out by anything associated with the federal government and finances especially after they erroneously said we didn't pay taxes for a certain year dated years back that we in fact did and had to resolve with invoices and such (amongst many other tedious brushups) -- they are always apprehensive of federal government scrutiny and being inconvenienced..</p>