Question about the difference in SL and HL

I am currently a highschool sophomore, and I’m planning on taking IB next year, but there is one thing I don’t really get.

I have checked a lot of places, and I’ve been told I can only take 4 IB HL classes and the rest has to be SL for the IBDP, but I recently saw some posts on various forums saying that you are allowed to take 5 IB HL classes as long as you take 4 HL exams in HL and the rest in SL. Is this an actual thing that someone can do? Or is it just a myth?

My plan for next year, as of now looks like this:
IB Math HL (I am doing double period math in order to do HL next year)
IB Literature HL (only offered in HL at my school, required)
IB History HL (only offered in HL at my school, required)
IB French SL (only offered in SL at my school, required)
IB Design Tech HL (only offered in HL at my school)
IB Biology (offered at both HL and SL)

I’m trying to figure out if there is a workaround for me to do Biology at HL, for example, can I take 5 HLs and just take the SL exam for Design Tech(I am still not sure about that being a myth or not)? I really want to actually take Biology HL for the credit, if possible.

What the school allows versus what IB allows may be different. You cannot take more than 4 HL exams. Period. End of story. And I doubt that the school would allow you to take Design Tech HL but only take the SL exam.

Whether a HS would be foolish enough to let you take a fifth HL class while only take the SL exam is a different story and one you need to ask your GC. But I fully suspect that you are asking the question without really understanding the immense workload that is involved with 4 HLs. Keep in mind that the vast majority of those students following the IBDP take 3 HLs and there are no brownie points given by anyone for taking more HLs. If college credit is your goal, you’re better off taking SL and filling in the gaps for the AP exam via self study. But I would not really recommend that either.