question on unweighted GPA at university of miami

<p>Hello, I am a worried sophomore from albuquerque, new mexico and was wondering about the stats that University of Miami posts. In their view books, they publish their average GPA as a 4.04. I do not know if this is weighted or not. My school does not weigh and i am nervous because my stats are not that high. Are my chances doomed, or is this GPA weighted? Any feedback would be very helpfulThanks.</p>

<p>That is a weighted GPA. My daughter's HS does not weigh either. She had a 3.7 and got in.</p>

<p>You can't have more than a 4.0 unweighted. Thus, the 4.04 average GPA is weighted. Note, this means that 50% got under 4.04 weighted GPA. Thus, it is NOT the minimum required GPA.</p>

<p>Just for the record, depending on the weight that your school provides, an unweighted 4.04 usually approximates about a 3.5 unweighted GPA with mostly honors and AP courses.</p>