Questions about CBHP Competitiveness

Hello everyone,

I am currently an international student who holds a serious interest in University of Alabama and its CBH Program. I know that the program is very selective (40 spots in over 1000 prospective applicants), but really I cannot imagine the high caliber of the successful applicants. Therefore, I’d love to hear some words from those who have experience with the CBHP.

Here are some of my questions, but any other information regarding its admission will be so welcome.

1. How are the stats of CBHP students? (SAT/ACT, GPA)
  2. What are the most important factors in the process of short-listing the applicants?
  3. Are applicants expected to have experience in research?
  4. Are being an international student a disadvantage?

Lastly, I have a concern (although not related to the selectivity of the program) about travelling to the US in case I get shortlisted. Going through some threads on this forum, I learned that notification of shortlisted applicants is out in the early February, and the interview takes place around the 20th. I wonder if UA could help me earn a VISA to the US faster so I can travel and be there in the interview.

So that’s it. Thank you all for your help. Any information is all highly appreciated.
And Roll Tide!

Sorry for some of the grammatical errors in the post. It was really careless of me.

1. Is being an international student a disadvantage?

Your questions can be answered in general or in specifics. I think that a specific example will help you get an idea of the types of kids that apply to be in CBH.

1. How are the stats of CBHP students? (SAT/ACT, GPA) - SAT 2120, ACT 34, GAP 4.5
  2. What are the most important factors in the process of short-listing the applicants? - My opinion only but here is what I think - Are you a good person? Someone that will give something back to society in general and to the program specifically; not just a test taking drone.