Rivers vs Belmont Hill and Nobles

We are looking at Rivers, Belmont Hill, and Nobles for our son who has good grades and plays competitive sports. We know Belmont Hill and Nobles are considered more prestigious, but from what we read Rivers appears to have equally rigorous academics and strong athletics. Belmont Hill and Nobles have significantly better college matriculation results. Is it because they do a better job preparing for college? better relationship with colleges? more legacies? or simply because they admit students more fit for top colleges?

I think once you adjust for legacies, recruited athletes, etc., the college matriculation results will look more in line across schools. I am not an expert on these three schools specifically, but it’s very challenging to use past college matriculation results as a criteria for selecting a high school. There is just too much that we do not know. At least until all schools start publishing a Harvard-Westlake style guide that excludes students with “distinctions.”

1 Like

Belmont Hill’s class of 2022 had an exceptionally strong college admissions year, with about 10% of the class going on to Harvard and more great acceptance results across the board. Most of the Harvard admits were unhooked students. BH was especially successful making immediate investments in pivoting to a stable, safe in-person learning environment during the worst of the pandemic, so this might have something to do with it. It is an example of how well-run and well-resourced the school is.

Any ISL school will have a sprinkling of recruited athlete, legacy, and development admits to colleges, varying year to year, but in general, matriculation differences among them reflect the kind of students the ISL school attracts and the fit of those student’s to that school’s learning culture. Trying to determine the last attribute is the more useful than comparing college matriculation data, in my opinion.

1 Like