Rushing a Sorority

<p>Hi everyone, I’m planning on attending Alabama in the fall and rushing and I have multiple questions about the process.</p>

<ol>
<li><p>Where do you find recommendations once you’ve found all you can from family, friends, people you know, etc.?</p></li>
<li><p>Does what you wear/how you look play a part in the process? (Be honest, and I’m not talking about being “unattractive” I’m talking about what you wear to rush and how you do your makeup and hair)</p></li>
<li><p>Is attending Preview Day essential? (I live in Maryland, going down in January to visit and probably can’t make it back down in February because of fight costs)</p></li>
<li><p>Does it matter if you’re from the North and don’t know many active members?</p></li>
<li><p>What if you don’t get a bid?</p></li>
</ol>

<p>I am considering attending Alabama. Maybe we will be in the same sorority! :P</p>

<p>I’m only a dad of a freshman girl who went through recruitment this past fall so…</p>

<p>1-You can contact your local sorority alumni associations. You can also find individual chapters that have local chapters. These can be good resources for recs. Use Facebook and other social media to find recs as well.</p>

<p>2- Yes, appearance, dress, hair and make up play a part in the process. The UA Panhellenic website has a guide to help you dress appropriately for each round. Be conservative and classy.</p>

<p>3- my D did not attend preview. I think it’s great if you can but not essential.</p>

<p>4- Lol, when did MD become the north? And no, it doesn’t make that much difference. Some houses do discriminate a little and only want girls from AL, but for the most part it isn’t an issue.</p>

<p>5- if you maximize your options you have a 90% chance of getting a bid. Be open to every house.</p>

<p>I posted this last night on the other thread.</p>

<p>Mom of a D in her second year at Alabama and she is in a sorority.</p>

<p>Here is what you need to do starting now:</p>

<ol>