Scholarships and Change of Major

Hi,
I am an international student who recently got accepted to TAMU’s Class of 2021. I had a query regarding the scholarships and change of majors.

I had applied to Mays but got admitted for Biology ( at my second choice school). Was that because I simply didn’t fit the bill at TAMU or was it because of seats getting filled already?

Another doubt I had,
When and where on the portal do scholarship decisions come? (I’m international)

TIA

Seats were already taken. I don’t know about the scholarships.

We were just told today in person that only 5% of incoming freshmen receive any type of scholarship. It was crushing to hear that.

My son has applied to schools in six states and has received scholarships in all of them except Texas. (We live in Texas). I could be wrong, but in my opinion, it seems that the big Texas schools don’t provide much in the way of scholarship because they don’t have to. There are just so many people that want to go to school here, they don’t have to reward very many for them to come.

@ cosmonewman I hadn’t heard of that 5% figure before. That is great information. If we assume there are 9700 incoming freshman enrolled in a given year, 5% means that 485 freshmen will get scholarships. Of that number, all the National Merit and National Hispanic Merit scholars are guaranteed scholarships. There were 162 National Merit Scholars that attended TAMU in 2014-15 school year. Not sure how many National Hispanic Scholars. 485 - 162 = 323. Of the 323, I wonder how many are recruited athletes getting some form of scholarship? I suspect quite a few (guessing 200?). That would leave 123 spots left for others (including National Hispanic Scholars).