Serious / year round soccer player - boarding school option?

Hello. My ds is an 8th grader who is an extremely serious, year ‘round soccer player — on the state team, club team placed 3rd at Nationals last Summer, has played and trained internationally serious. He’s also very bright - great grades and scores and other extras.

We’re currently looking at high schools - mostly local because of the soccer situation. He would consider boarding schools, but they would have to have a top soccer program and the ability for him to play year ‘round on a local strong club or academy team.

Any suggestions?

I graduated from Choate, so we will likely look there just because. We are west coast, but would look anywhere around the globe if it were the right fit of strong soccer and strong academics.

Thanks in advance.

Take a look at the New England Soccer Journal website. They cover Prep, academy and club soccer.

Ok, this is in my wheelhouse!

Most (but not all) of the New England boarding schools have strong school teams. And then many play for Black Rock in the winter and spring, which is by invitation and is the cream of the prep school players. They don’t play in a league but do go to tournaments and are all about college placement. I could write much more about this aspect. They have some of the best players in the country, and a few that have gone pro before college (or shortly thereafter) so even if your son is one of the best in California he would fit in with Black Rock (and would be a standout!).

Since the prep academy program at Black Rock only has prep players, they fit with the prep school schedule. They understand the 3 sport requirement of the schools, and schedule things when there is the least conflict with school. They also arrange a lot (tho not all) of the transportation to practices and tournaments.