Should I apply to UW-Madison?

UW-Madison is my first choice school, and I am trying to decide if it is too much of a reach or should not apply there.

I am an out-of-state resident.
I have taken almost all honors and AP(AP Calc, AP Chem, AP Physics).
I have a Weighted GPA of 4.07 and an unweighted of 3.71.
My SAT is 1210 (math: 650, Reading 560)
I am a two-year hockey letterman.
I have partaken in the Latin club, French club, chem club, and National Honor Society)
I have two jobs, I am a hockey instructor and I work at an Adidas store.
I have 60 volunteer hours.
I am the secretary of the chem club.

Also, I should not need any aid. My parents have said they have enough money to cover much of the cost. I live in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

3.7 is solid unweighted for UW, any chance you can retake SAT to nudge it up some? As a UW parent and long time observer of UW admission results here on CC, those stats sounds like a “postponed” (which is what happens to most middle of the road candidates), and then could go either way in the spring, either accept or deny. The OOS kids who get accepted in first round are typically high stats – 32+ ACT and minimum 3.7 unweighted. Have you tried the ACT? Some kids find it much easier to do well on than the SAT, though many kids do find that their SAT and ACT scores are roughly comparable.

Worth applying and you should aim for higher test scores. Be sure to concentrate on academics- keep/raise your gpa. More important than tons of ECs.

Yes, test scores and GPAs are more important for State schools. They just have too many applications to do holistic reviews.

UW does do holistic reviews but having many EC’s will not replace competitive academic record/test results. Remember you are applying to study in college and need a solid foundation.

It would be 200K, are you sure your folks would pay?