Should I become a nurse? Should I transfer?

<p>Hi! I'm a college freshman definitely pre-health, thinking about pre-med. The college I go to (JHU) has no undergraduate nursing major (go figure). </p>

<p>I want to be a doctor specifically for the ability to direct someone's care the direction I think it should go, and I think it would be a great honor to be that first person people want to call, want to see, want to trust with their health. Sometimes, though, I don't think I have what it takes to have that responsibility or to be a leader like that. So much autonomy might freak me out,,, @-) </p>

<p>I think I'd also be content being the one carrying out orders as a nurse (maybe happier?). IDK how much patient contact I'm interested in; I like to be warm and accommodating and want long-term relationships, but I'm also introverted, so being around people for a long periods of time is tiring. </p>

<p>Med school = super huge factor, super huge con... /: Pre-med requirements also = huge con. But if I decide not to be pre-med, I'm probably going to have to wrestle with the loss of prestige that job has and disappointing everyone around me who already expects me to be "the next Ben Carson" and are asking me to treat them in the future, lol. The second one will be relatively easy to do, because it's <em>my</em> career, but there might always be that "What if?"</p>

<p>I'm planning to shadow some doctors and nurses this summer. But if I decide that I'd rather do Nursing, should I transfer to a Nursing program? I'd feel weird staying in school for another 2-3 to get a Bachelor's in something other than Nursing. That's a waste of time and money... Are there any perks to getting an Accelerated BSN post-grad vs. a four-year degree? </p>

<p>What to do with you life is a decision only you can make.</p>