Should I go to UC San Diego or UC Davis?

UC San Diego

• Closer to home
  • More prestige

UC Davis

• I love the NorCal area
  • It’s closer to my sister, who lives in San Francisco (I miss her).
  • Scienes at San Diego are more impacted, so it might be hard for me to switch if I end up decided to do biology??
  • They have more majors I might consider (Food Science, dietics)
  • Closer to my boyfriend who will attend Berkeley (even though I know I’m not supposed to go to a school because of a boy… It’s still a plus)

My top was always Berkeley, but I’m pretty sure I got rejected. So I’m stuck between these two schools. Does the prestige of San Diego really outweigh Davis? Does that really matter?

My major is undeclared right now. I want to do something science related, but I might end up switching.
If I decide to get a Masters or go to med school, would Davis vs. San Diego really make a big difference?

The ‘prestige’ difference between SD and Davis is non-existant, particularly for some of the majors you’re suggesting here. The bigger factor is going to be which environment makes you happy. Given your statements here, you sound like you’re very sociable, motivated by close personal relationships as much as anything else.

Go to Davis. Friendliest school on the planet.

Kinda of putting the cart before the horse since decisions will not be out till March.

Wait for your decisions, visit during accepted student days and then make your decision.

If you get into both, these schools are a good place to be “stuck between”.

You really need to visit the campuses after you are accepted.

Big Big difference in environment! Free tutoring at Davis.

Davis is a biking campus and warm town. There are over 40K bikes on campus.
My dd2 went to Davis and loved it!