Should I join a sorority at the University of Alabama?

I am so excited to be joining the freshman class at the University of Alabama next year, as it has been top school for me for many years. Although with a large portion of the student population going Greek, I’m undecided if it is for me or not. On one hand, I am very social and enjoy making friends and feel like I would really like joining a sorority. On the other hand, it is very expensive (I have a full scholarship and it still is), I’ve never partied a lot in high school, and sometime I feel like some sorority girls are not like me AT ALL. I’m seeking advice from anyone that has been involved in greek life at the university of Alabama or anyone that made the decision to not go Greek. Thanks & roll tide!

I have no experience with Alabama, but if I were you I’d look at videos of each sorority on you tube. Many have recruitment videos and tours of the houses and rooms. You can get a good idea if you’d be a good fit. Some sororities are very high-pressure and only will accept you if you are gorgeous, blonde and thin.

With 18 national chapters (plus a variety of social sororities), there is something for everyone in every chapter. Youtube videos can be scary because the girls are at peak recruitment energy and honestly, it is an odd representation of the group as a whole. And for goodness sakes, stay off of Greek Rank! Look at the UA Panhellenic information page and get a feel for what each chapter stands for and what you can expect during rush. Start asking around to see if people you know are or were in sororities and what they liked about the experience. You’ll need these contacts for recommendations if you do decide to rush. It was more than a few years ago and wasn’t at Alabama, but I know my sorority had a very broad mix of women…everything from literal beauty queens to party girls to those in a slew of honor societies. The hope is everyone finds their place.