Should I pursue a double major?

I am a freshman at ASU studying Business Data Analytics(BDA). Recently, I have come to know a lot of people double majoring in BDA and Computer Information Systems(CIS), and also in BDA and Supply Chain Management. Should I also pursue one of these choices? I’m really confused.

Do you have interest in systems or supply chain ?

Both would add value with supply chain being a bullet proof major at ASU. Lots of employers.
But in the end, what is your interest ?

Both would be additive but it doesn’t mean either is right for you.

There’s also minors and / or other majors outside the b school.

Your degree, on its own, will be fine. The data industry is booming. But other skill sets and knowledge never hurt.

But make sure you have interest vs doing just because others are.

1 Like

You should double major or at least minor. I talk about this in another thread.

Data analysts/scientist benefit from having some kind of domain knowledge. This could be in a variety of fields including ones outside of business (STEM, a social science or humanity like geography, economics, etc). This will help solve problems that are the subject matter of the field you land in.

A second path is this…entry level analyst job postings frequently want a business degree like finance, marketing, accounting, or supply chain plus analytics skills. So, dual majors help you get that job more than a minor.

1 Like

CIS or MIS or CompSci give you breadth on the computing side. You can tackle harder problems and a lot more database work with one of those degrees

Talk to an advisor and see if it’s doable. Some schools have a lot of roadblocks for double majors.

Are the majors limited access? Trying to double major in popular majors can be a no-go because you’re taking a seat away from people who are competing for one major.

Then there’s meeting the Gen Ed requirements for multiple schools at the university.