Thinking of changing careers to medicine but am not sure if some "transcript" stuff will hold me back

I graduated from college a few years ago. I was initially premed but was discouraged by some of the B grades I earned in prerequisites. I consequently changed majors and found a different career. While my cumulative GPA (~3.8) is okay and my science GPA is a bit low (~3.55) I am more concerned about some of the stuff on my transcript.

Concerns are as follows:

• I withdrew from my 3rd semester of college because of various physical/mental health issues and family stuff (grandparent illness). I earned all A/A- and one B+ at my 4 year college after coming back, and I worked 20-30 hours a week and took CC classes (15 units of A’s) during my absence from my 4 year college.
  • I P/NP-ed one of my pre-requisites during Spring 2020 and also took 6 of my major classes P/NP. That being said, I got all A/A- in the rest of my major classes (three of them).
  • I took only 8 units in my penultimate semester and only 4 units in my last semester.
  • In Fall 2020, I took 2 major classes P/NP but took one class for a minor for a grade (got an A). Will this look like cherrypicking and imply that the classes I P-ed were C’s or worse? Because that’s not true, in fact, after the final, I was pulling an A- in one of my major classes. I got a very bad grade on the midterm because of technical issues with exam submission, though.

To clarify, my major classes were not BCPM nor prerequisites.

Are you considering medical school or another career in healthcare?
@WayOutWestMom will be able to help you with your concerns and answer your questions.

Medical school or PA school, yes.

1 Like

Have you done any shadowing? PA programs often require a specific number of hours, which can differ depending on the program.

1 Like

I’ve done 10-15 hours of shadowing so far. To be honest, I am mostly prioritizing MD/DO school applications over PA.

1 Like