Too Many Honors Classes?

<p>D got an e-mail from someone at UA today pointing out that she was taking 9 honors credits in the fall and suggesting she spread them out. I personally didn’t think she was overloaded with honors classes. The honors courses she’s taking are EN 103, CBH 101, Outdoor Action and a 1 credit Common Book Experience. She has two other classes that are not honors. Anyone know at what number of honors credits they start sending this e-mail? Does this seem like too much to anyone? Realistically the only course she would drop is the one credit Common Book Experience - she wants to get Freshman Composition over with and she’s not going to drop CBH or OA. Thoughts?</p>

<p>I’m a freshman too and I’m taking 7 honors hours: CBH 101 and Honors Fine Arts. Since Outdoor Action mostly takes place before classes start and the common book experience is supposedly light, I see no reason why her schedule should be a problem. How many hours is she currently scheduled for in total?</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>16 credits total; 4 regular classes plus 2 one-credit classes.</p>

<p>I’m assuming you did not get the e-mail for 7 honors credits, right?</p>

<p>Outdoor Action and the Common Book Experience certainly aren’t a problem, especially since OA will be over before classes begin. I don’t know what the time commitment and work load/expectations would be like for the English class and CBH combined.</p>

<p>11 of my 15 scheduled credits are Honors… should I drop something?? I’m already leaning towards dropping UH155 Coming of Age Story.</p>

<p>My honors credits now are UH155, UH120 Honors Year One (which apparently is no added workload), EC110 Honors microecon, EN219 Honors American Lit, and Alabama Action.</p>

<p>S received the email also, but he is signed up for 12 (!!) honors credits. I guess we were going on the theory that the classes aren’t necessarily more demanding and I think he would appreciate the smaller class sizes. His honors classes are:</p>