Transfer after one semester

<p>I am a freshman at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. At first, I wanted to do pre-med to later do something in the medical field (like a doctor, etc). However, I feel doctor doesn't fit me at all. I want to do nursing, but they don't have a nursing program here at Virginia Tech. They do have a nursing program at VCU and GMU though. I'm thinking of transferring, but should I wait one year, or transfer the next semester (spring 2014). I don't want to be behind in the nursing prerequisites, and they don't offer some of these prerequisites here at Tech. I don't want to waste here at Tech though.</p>

<p>If you were my kid, I’d tell you to make an appointment at VCU’s and GMU’s nursing school’s admissions office as soon as possible. (This is their busy time, so they might not be able to see you right away though.) They may tell you to wait a year, but you could also use the appointment to review the available prereqs at Virginia Tech with them to get their suggestions. You might be able to fill up a year with freshman-sophomore prereqs, and then transfer and take the others as a sophomore (ie, take some of them out-of-order?). They may also suggest that you can take some summer classes to catch up with their nursing prereq tracks. (You could also think about adding prereqs for other nursing schools in your first year if you stay at Virginia Tech, to open up other 2+2 programs). If you have a freshman scholarship or other financial reason for staying at Virginia Tech for a full year, you can find ways to mazimize the value of the credits that you earn there.</p>

<p>Finally, they may tell you to just go ahead and transfer. That is always an option. It guarantees that you’re taking the classes that you need and that School #2 will give you credit for the class. </p>