Transfer- Chance/Help?!!

<p>Hi guys,</p>

<p>I am currently a sophomore at USC. I am looking to transfer schools. Unfortunately my GPA tanked this semester, and now I have a 3.1, which does NOT make me competitive as a transfer for top tier colleges. I am VERY interested in transferring to Colorado College, but my GPA is pretty low (just below there 3.2 and above transfer application standard). I am involved with other things on campus, and I can get a decent teacher rec and write a decent essay. MY HS stats are good, but won't count for anything. Should I try community college for a semester to bring grades up and apply after? Would I have too many credits then though (60+)? Take the semester off and "find myself" or something? Do I have a chance at all?</p>

<p>Any opinions? If anybody can help me out with how to try to get into CC, what they are looking for mostly, who to contact to talk about my situation, or what to do about transferring to top colleges as a whole (not shooting for Ivy or anything,) I'd really appreciate it. I don't care if its through the back door, the front, or whatever, I just need help getting into CC.
HELP!!!!</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>First, Merry Christmas (if that’s your thing).</p>

<p>Did you see the responses to your other post?
I agree with monydad and Erin’s Dad in that thread. It would be good to identify more clearly what is not working for you at USC and what you are really looking for in another school.</p>

<p>There is no secret formula for getting in when your stats are not competitive. I don’t know for sure whether a 3.1x from USC will or won’t rule out transfer to CC. As you realize, even if it won’t, it is not high enough to make you a sure thing. So, it can only help (at CC or elsewhere) to be clear about why you want to transfer, why you are interested in this specific school, and what you think you have to offer. A desperate tone probably won’t make for a good sales pitch.</p>