Transfer from WashU to Columbia Advice

Hey! I’m a rising freshman at Washington University in St. Louis, majoring in computer science. However, I eventually want to transfer to Columbia University. In high school, I maintained a GPA of 3.8 and scored 1520 on the SATs (1530 super-scored). I am curious about the likelihood of being accepted into Columbia and would appreciate any advice on improving my chances. Also, I’m wondering how much my high school GPA will affect my transfer application, given that it’s not really that good. Thank you!

Why do you want to transfer?

If you want to transfer as a sophomore (i.e. just after frosh year), your high school record and your college record will matter. If you want to transfer as a junior (i.e. just after sophomore year), your high school record will be less relevant compared to your (by that time) greater college record. No one now can chance you for transfer since you do not have a college record.

Columbia has significant Columbia-specific core or general education requirements, so transfer students may need to “catch up” on them, increasing the risk of delaying graduation.

7 Likes

I also am wondering about the same question that @ucbalumnus asked above: Why do you want to transfer?

Generally to transfer to an Ivy League university (or other top ranked university) you need a good academic reason. I do not understand what it would be in this case.

Years ago I got to participate in a computer science seminar at WUSTL. I was impressed with the students in the seminar and the professor leading the seminar, and had a great visit.