Transfer or stay?

<p>Hey aggies,</p>

<p>Currently I am a rising sophomore at Rice University, double majored(hopefully I can do it) in BS Mechanical Engineering and BS Earth Science. I am in a dillema about whether transfer to be an Aggie or not.</p>

<p>Rice is an awesome, open, wet campus. The people and faculty there are unbelievably friendly and open-minded.<br>
...But after one year, I figured that Rice doesn’t offer the major I wanted: PetroE. I would like to go for a Ph.D in PetroE or Energy Resources Eng. So right now I can only take both Earth science and Mech Eng classes at Rice. Btw I’m an international student. </p>

<p>If I stay at Rice I guess it will be hard for me to do two BS at the same time. But I'm pretty sure I will be happy about people and life here.</p>

<p>If transfer:
I am not sure about social life at TAMU. There are too many people and hardly professors notice you.
Also.. If I do transfer, I don't know if I should apply for Spring 13(deadline Aug 1, 2012) or Fall 13? Because PetroE are pretty competitive and might be already full at the time I’m transferring, are there any current PetroE undergrad can give me some info? If I get in another engineering div, is it hard to change major at TAMU?</p>

<p>About me:
GPA not particularly high(Engineering people are nuts at Rice): around 3.5.
I completely screwed up my first semester but did well in my second. I haven’t taken a lot of major requirement courses yet. But I took all intro math and eng classes, Diffe, Multi, intro to Matlab and some fun classes which ruined my Gpa.</p>

<p>My SAT(I wonder if they are still important..): around 96 percentile if I remembered it right. Something like 1400/1600.</p>

<p>Research: Have been doing research since the first semester. Not related to Earth Science though. Mostly Mech stuff.</p>

<p>Motivation:
My grandpa was a PetroE professor and has a lot of impact on me choosing PetroE.