Transferring from CSUF to UCI [software engineering]

Hi I am a student who is trying to transfer from CSUF to UCI as a transfer senior student for software engineering. I was wondering what is needed for me to transfer from CSUF to UCI. My story was that I was accepted but my application was rescinded and had to attend CSUF. what could I do to increase my chances of getting into UCI. Should I do dual enrollment in community college? I need guidance on what to do?

UCI prioritizes transfers from community colleges over four year colleges. UCs in general prioritize junior level transfers, although UCI may admit “some” senior level transfers.

The admit 25th-75th percentile college GPA range for UCI software engineering was 3.72-3.93 for students admitted to start in fall 2022, but a senior transfer from a four year college would likely need higher than that, if it is even possible to get admitted. In addition, UCI has a lot of course work for CS/SE that is not well covered by courses from other colleges, so you may be missing a lot of requirement coverage despite senior level credit units.

Why not stay at your current school and graduate there?

Do you mean that you were accepted at UCI as a HS senior? Why was your application rescinded?

My guess is the answer to that question may impact your ability to transfer, no matter your credits/pre-reqs.

No I got rescinded as a Junior Transfer from CC, because I didn’t have calc II completed over spring (Did It over summer). So now I actually do have the reqs finished.

1 Like