Transferring from VT to George Mason

<p>I'm a freshman at VT this year and I honestly don't think it's the right place for me. Don't get me wrong, most people are nice and the campus is beautiful and all, but I just don't feel at home and I've decided to transfer to some schools in Virginia. I am applying to William and Mary, U of Richmond, and UVA (don't kill me) for sure, but I'm scared that I won't be accepted to any of them. So I was thinking that I should apply at GMU as a back up. However I know that GMU is pretty far behind Tech as in rankings and name recognition goes so I'm not sure this is the right decision for my future. However I am a business major (currently marketing but thinking about switching to accounting) so it wouldn't be as bad if I were an engineering major. Do you guys think it would be really dumb in terms of future job placement to transfer? Thanks!</p>

<p>Hi jenster,</p>

<p>I don’t think that transferring is going to affect your chances of getting a job, but it may delay your timing in graduating and pursuing that job. Have you looked into the classes you have taken so far and your ability to transfer your credits? Being a freshman, you most likely have taken very basic core requirements (not into your business major yet), so hopefully you should be able to transfer them if you did well grade wise. </p>

<p>But, you may have to reconfigure some things, add a semester or two, if certain classes in your major need prerequisites and you are unable to immediately fit them into your schedule because of the need to retake any VT courses that did not transfer equally. I would take time to call the business (academic) department of each of these schools and discuss your transcripts and what your options are, how long it will take you to graduate and factor in those costs. </p>