Two Bachelor degrees or one Master's degree? [have accounting bachelor's degree, want to go into MIS]

Since this is largely anonymous, I’m sharing the name of the university I attend.

I have a Bachelor’s of Accounting from University of Houston-Downtown with a 3.4GPA. I have 10 total years of relevant work experience. Recruiters dismiss my degree, I’ve gotten no call backs. I am facing bankruptcy by 2025 if I’m unable to bring my income up. 2025 is simply a deadline to break out of my current income-debt ratio, if I’m unable to I’ll simply throw in the towel. (89k debt, 55k income, not including the upcoming student loan payments for a balance of 22k. Previously I made 82k and was laid off without warning/priors/or performance issues.)

I have noticed my counterparts with a Master’s in MIS or a few still enrolled with an AA in Computer Technology have had recruiters reach out to them. They have 2/3 years to no work experience.

I have done my classmates work before and understand the concepts. I would be interested in a Bachelor’s in MIS. I no longer have an interest in Accounting, the passion is gone. I can attempt a Master’s in Accounting or get my CPA but I would struggle through it as it is difficult to pay attention to something that has caused so much dissatisfaction.

1. Would it be worth it to return to school to obtain a Bachelor’s in MIS?
  2. Would my job prospects improve with a MIS degree or is the job market shifting in poor favor?
  3. Is MIS still considered a STEM degree?

If you have ten years work experience, why not get an MBA with MIS concentration.

If you can get into a top MIS school like U of Arizona (less competitive MBA), it would help. MIS is not CS - it’s typically housed in the b schools. They’re showing $107K starting salary but you should ask the school - or any school - for specific info but it’s their top major. Minnesota and ASU might be two others - but I think harder to get into.