UCLA vs Cornell

Hey guys! Congrats on surviving this admissions season!

After narrowing it down, I’ve settled on two choices, UCLA or Cornell and I need some help deciding which one.

UCLA Pros:
In state tuition
Major has opportunities in comp sci which I want (computational systems biology) + good job opportunities
#1 dining hall food!!!
school spirit!!!

UCLA Cons
very close to home (I want to explore new things)
my major is also focused on molec biology (not really my thing imo)
a reallyyyy big school
quarter system

Cornell Pros:
I love the science portion of my major (Public Health in CHE)
out of state, excited for a change on the east coast!
LOVE the cold (esp the snow!! and skiing!!)
smaller school but not too small
my best friend of over 11 years will be joining me in one year (she got the transfer option) :wink:

Cornell Cons:
not sure if I love the rural setting
not sure if my major has many viable job opps
heard that cornell curriculum is very hard
heard that it is difficult to do college to college transfers (I want some sort of flexibility just in case)
$$$$$ (expecting to get some financial aid though as my sister went to UPenn and it eventually became affordable (I think))

• hoping to get off the WL at Cal/northwestern/dartmouth though, because it would change my plans completely. For now, I’m just going to send a LOCI and focus my efforts on the schools that loved me back <3

Would appreciate any input-- Thank you!!!

1 Like

Ithaca is great so I wouldn’t worry about the “rural” setting - you’ll have no short of campus, town, and nature activities.

College is hard. It’s hard at competitive and non competitive schools - often major dependent.

And btw - I suppose it’s based on your definition - but Cornell is not smaller or small - but it will have a heavy grad mix.