UCSD, UCI, UCD, UCLA, UCSB and other CS school chances?

Hi everbody,

I am currently a sophomore attending Monta Vista high school (one of the more rigorous and competitive ones in the nation). I plan on majoring in CS, or a variation of it (such as CSE or CS + Math). My GPA, from freshman year till now, by semester goes like this:

Semester 1 Freshman: 3.5 UW (I know its bad)
Semester 2 Freshman: 3.83 UW
Semester 1 Sophomore: Most likely a 3.5 UW, and a 3.83 W (I know, bad again)
Semester 2 Sophomore: ???

So far, my performance in high school has been sub par at best. I intend on improving my work habits, and if I achieve good grades from now on I can get up to a 3.79-3.88 UC GPA, with a 4.3 - 4.4 uncapped weighted gpa. Let’s say I do achieve decent grades so that my UW UC is a 3.8, and W UC is a 4.3: What are my chances at colleges with a good CS program? What are my chances at decent CS colleges? I know it is a little premature to judge my chances based off of this information, but maybe a point in the correct direction can really help me understand if I should be trying harder (by taking more AP’s and juicing up my mediocre GPA). My EC’s include:

100+ hours of volunteering (through a volunteering club)
Teaching kids programming outside of school (non profit)
Taekwondo Black belt and competition medalist (x5)
Working on designing a program using neural networks, etc. (I don’t know if this counts as an EC, but I’ll list it anyways).

My other questions include:

1. Is CS a really tough major to get into? If so, should I apply as undeclared or as a non-impacted major to increase my chances? What can I do to increase my chances of getting into these schools?
  2. Is it true that if you don’t get into the major of your choice at UCSD, you have to take courses and get straight A’s to get into your desired major?
  3. What is the acceptance rate into UCSD, UCSB, and UCI CS?

Thanks in advance to anyone that replies.