UC CS chances

Hi,

I’m currently a sophomore (going into junior year) attending Monta Vista High School in California. I’m currently very worried about my college chances due to my slump in second semester sophomore year. Almost the whole semester, I had only 1 B and 5 A’s, until the end during finals week, where I ended up with 4 B’s and 2 A’s in the semester (out of 6 classes)

I’m an asian male intending to major in CS. I am not aiming for the top tier ivy level schools, but I am aiming for any UC or CSU, as well as other good cs colleges. My GPA trend is:

Freshman 1st sem: 3.5 UW

Freshman 2nd sem: 3.83 UW

Sophomore 1st sem: 3.67 UW and 4.0 W

Sophomore 2nd sem: 3.33 UW and 3.67 W

My EC’s include: Taekwondo, summer job, 100+ hours of volunteering, nonprofit organization teaching kids how to code.

My stats aren’t perfect, but at this point, I am simply curious as to my chances at colleges such as Georgia Tech, UCI, UCSD, UCSB, UCSC, and UWashington. If I get a 4.0 throughout high school, I can achieve a 3.8 UW and a 4.2 W, which is an improvement. Does an upward GPA trend really help that much? Is there a chance I can get into those colleges, and if not, can I get into other decent CS programs around the country (or is community college the only option) ?

Thanks to anyone who helps.

You’re already near or at the border point where it will be hard to get into UCB, UCLA and probably UW for CS. Maybe even passed. Unless you got all straight As in 11th grade. if your 11th grade average is similar to your tenth grade average you’re looking more at UCSC and similar schools.

Also a lot depends on test scores and how rigorous your current and remaining classes are. ECs and essays will play a role. And if you have any hooks (Monte Vista has some of the best chess players in the whole country for example, and being by Apple there may be internship opportunities).