Waitlisted at SDSU Weber Honors College

Hi! I was an early admit at SDSU for Civil Engineering and I thought I had a pretty good shot at being accepted into their Honors College. It’s not the end of the world or anything, but I was waitlisted. Does anyone know how many people get waitlisted? Of those people, how many get offered a spot in the Honors College as well?

I looked on their frequently asked questions and they said they have (on average) 1600 applicants and 300 accepted freshman. The average test score (SAT) is 1345 and average weighted GPA is 4.14.

I have a 1340 SAT and my weighted GPA is 4.12 (but my CSU GPA is 3.9, I’m still confused on what GPA colleges will look at, if they consider multiple, or if they create their own GPA).

I’ve been told I’m a strong writer (in the application process sense) and I believe my writing for the Honors College was solid.

What do you think my chances are? Thank you for any advice or info!

The CSU’s (except Cal Poly SLO) will use the capped weighted CSU GPA so in your case it would be the 3.9.

Since not everyone that is admitted to SDSU and Weber’s Honor college ends up attending, I am sure they will be taking students off the waitlist. How many?

I asked the WHC college how many people were on the waitlist for next Fall (they wouldn’t say other than indicating it was “robust”). I also asked historically how many people are offered spots from the waitlist and they said very few. My daughter was also an early admit and was hopeful she would be accepted to WHC for Fall 2020, but was waitlisted.