What are the steps to become a nurse anesthetist?

<p>Also, what is nursing school like? </p>

<p>Any tips for someone wanting to become an RN, and maybe one day a nurse anesthetist? </p>

<p>Thanks :)</p>

<p>Hello! I’m a junior nursing student at the University of Pittsburgh and my future goals (as of right now) are to become a nurse anesthetist as well. The first step is to get through nursing school, preferably a BSN program. Nursing school is very tough; it demands countless all nighters and many many hours of studying. But in the end it’s very rewarding, especially once you get into clinical. By that time everything you’ve learned starts coming together and everything starts to make sense. On our campus, if the nurses have an exam coming up, everyone can tell because the stress can be read from miles away and we’re always the ones having huge study sessions in the library trying to tie up loose ends in notes or techniques. Do you have any specific types fo questions you have about nursing school? It would probbaly be a lot easier to answer that then a more general question of what nursing school is like. Once you complete undergraduate the next step is to pass the NCLEX-RN board to become a registered nure. Now to be admitted into a nurse anesthetist program, most require experience (2 years reccommended) in an acute care setting (like the ICU). Once the epxerience is completed you apply for a masters program for nurse anesthetist. good luck to you!!!</p>

<p>panthernation: Are you able to have a social life in nursing school??? How difficult is the Pitt nursing program???</p>