Which UW College Shoud I Attend If...

Hello, I’m a Junior in high school at the moment, and I’m currently trying to decide between UW colleges. My current plan is to major in Accounting and minor in Actuarial Science, although I’m currently considering either swapping them (so that I’m majoring in Actuarial Science and minoring in Accounting), or pursuing a double major.

My current GPA is a 3.8, and I scored a 31 on the ACT exams. I’m more than willing to take the SAT exams as well, if it would better my chances of getting into a better school or receiving academic scholarships/grants.

Your stats are high enough for UW-Madison. You will be able to apply direct admit to the school of business. They are increasing the number of direct admit students.

UW-Madison is the best for those majors.

(There are no minors at UW-Madison).

UW-Madison of course. Consider U of Minnesota and UW-LaCrosse as backups.

UW-Whitewater is very strong in Accounting, second only to Madison.

But- as an overall campus Whitewater will not have the better academic peer group overall.

Do apply to a UW system school in addition to UW-Mafison. UW-Madison is taking so many OOS and international students to plug its budget that admission is not guaranteed even with your stats. I’d suggest UW Whitewater.

Update: Thank you all for the answers, the overall consensus seems to be UW-Madison. That being said, however, Madison is very expensive; $25,294 even with being an in-state student. Is the UW school system particularly generous with scholarships/grants?

@violetJack
I have read here that the net price calculator for Madison is very accurate. Have you tried that? My DS ended up waitlisted, but according to the NPC, we would have qualified for $3000 need based grant from Madison.