Working Twice as Hard for Half the of the Results

I am a very low income student who comes from an unsupportive single parent household. Lately i’ve been experiencing deep sadness and jealousy towards my high achieving high income peers. Is it normal for me to feel this way? I put a lot of effort into my school work, but still I feel that it doesn’t amount to what they do and achieve. I can’t help comparing myself. Is there any advice for me?

Keep at it and focus on yourself and your goals. Your road may be longer and harder, but take some time to celebrate your small wins along the way. Be kind to yourself and patient but also work hard and steady. Seek out mentors in your school and community. They can help you work smarter and avoid pitfalls. Be happy for others as well – a positive outlook will help you more in the long run by helping you become a person others want to be around. Deep breaths. I know it can be hard.

Also on the practical advice front, take advantage of free programming your school might offer. For example, if your teachers provide before or after school tutoring, go, and take their advice. Free SAT/ACT prep classes? Go! Church sponsored trips to colleges? Go! Evening programs on applying to college? Library evening programs? College recruiting fairs? Go! There are adults looking to help motivated students get a leg up. Sometimes it takes trying out several things to cobble together a non-family support system.

I’m sorry, OP, that sounds hard, and feeling bitter isn’t something anyone sets out to do. Definitely reach out for support. You might also want to look at programs like Posse, Questbridge, JCKF, etc. that recognize your effort and want you to succeed because of it.

This sounds hokey, but try starting your day with a brief meditation on what you want from the day in front of you, and end each day with a brief meditation on something great you did or are. This can help you focus on your achievement without comparing yourself to others.