Worth going to Bama and not rushing?

I’ve already applied and been accepted to Bama. I’m an OOS student and I received my letter for the UA Scholar scholarship, and if my ACT goes up then I will get the Presidential. I have had my heart set on going to Bama since the summer; however, I’m having second thoughts. I don’t think I will be rushing in the fall because a) I don’t have the money to and b) even if I had the money I’m not sure I would even want to be in a sorority. I’ve heard from several people, including girls at sororities at Bama, to not go to Bama if you aren’t rushing since Bama is the biggest greek school in the country. I’ve heard that if you don’t rush then you will be excluded from a lot of the social events at school. Should I be worried about this? Or do you think I can still go to Bama and meet people and make good friends without being in a sorority? I’m more of a shy person and focused on academics, but I still want to have fun and make friends. I’m worried about not fitting in or finding people like me.
Also, I haven’t paid my room deposit yet because my parents want me to be 100% sure I’m going to Bama, which I can’t be sure of until my ACT goes up a point to 32. If I don’t pay until November or December, will I be able to get Honors housing?

Alabama is not the biggest Greek school in the country - percentage wise.

If you’re not going to go thru Rush, then it’s a good idea to get involved with the school in another way. Some do Million Dollar Band, some do Alabama Action or Outdoor Action the week before school starts to meet new friends (who also aren’t rushing).

I’m an UA student with no Greek affiliation. 90% of my social cycle do not rush either, and we still have a good time here. Don’t let that discourage you from going.

I’d admit that UA is quite influenced by Greek. However, regarding meeting people and making good friends, don’t worry. I’m also “more of a shy person and focused on academics”, and I can still find my people.