Chance ME @Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, NYU

Hi!

I am new to this so I don’t know the exact format of how this info is to be presented, but here’s a little about me:

International, Female, Asian, Private School, No legacy

GPA: 95/100 (UW) (People with below this have also gotten in from my country since it is a rigorous board)

No weighted GPA, because no APs are offered by school; no rank

Applied Test-optional because couldn’t give SAT due to pandemic

Took a gap year (graduated from High School in 2020) to really find a niche area I wanted to study. In my gap year, I participated in research studies, international conferences, national competitions, online courses and did an internship - all in the area of my interest (Econ+Finance)

Awards/Honors:

• School Academic Honors (Three Awards)
  • International Language Quiz - top in country, among top in asia
  • International Scholarship (Merit) - Finalist
  • State level marketing competition - 2nd Position
  • National Finalist - Econ competition
  • National Finalist - Finance competition
  • HPAIR scholar

ECs:

1. Econ and Business Club - member, leader, also affiliated after school (4+1 years)
  2. Founder/President of Public Speaking Club (11,12)
  3. Student Mentor - social service club (11)
  4. Emceeing (9-12)
  5. Research Project - Econ (12)
  6. Research Project - Finance (12)
  7. Case Study Project - Business (12)
  8. Student Govt - Captain (11)
  9. Marketing Competitions (11,12)
  10. Family Responsibilities (4+1 years)

Essays:
CommonApp: About huge personal development - but is a very light-hearted piece of writing
Harvard supplement: About personal life and circumstances - a very serious tone
Yale supplements: My favorite! (idk how to describe them, but are kinda witty and expressive in my mind and show clear inclination towards the school)
Dartmouth essay, NYU essays: About the school but connected w personal aspects