About University of Miami

Hi, I am a sophomore that is starting to look around for a future college home. A few school that I have taken a liking to are UMich and Austin and reaches, and UMiami as very much in range. I was hoping to learn about the safety, living styles, kind of people, and overall “temperature” of this school. So far, I am undetermined in a future major, but I am leaning very much towards Pre-Med. Thanks!

Probably should have mentioned my grades.
Current Weighted- 4.03
Current Unweighted- 3.6 (I believe)
I have brought my GPA up .11 since my pathetic freshman year.
Freshman Year-
3 Honors, 3 Regular
Sophomore Year-
2 APs, 2 Honors, 2 Regular
Junior Year (Will Be Taking)
2-3APs, 2-3 Honors, 1-2 Regular
ECs:
Currently 15 Service hours
Already planned to volunteer at animal shelter, local basketball league coach, involved in interact club, very possible NHS, and play for JV soccer team

You most likely get in with those stats if you keep the grades up. I’m a current sophomore at UM. I’ve never felt unsafe on campus, even at night. I normally go for a run around campus as late at 1 AM and have never had a problem or seen anything suspicious. It’s very quiet at night. Students definitely love to party, and it’s Miami so it isn’t hard to party literally any time you want. There are a lot of rich students who are clearly there just to have fun, but most students I’ve encountered have been very nice. Overall, I’d describe the feel on campus as “work hard, pay harder.” Definitely do not regret my decision coming here. It’s absolutely BEAUTIFUL and there is always something to do whether it be on-campus events, the beach, pool, tons of shopping, downtown, or clubs (if you’re into clubbing).

Your standardized test score will be part of the consideration. Grades are more important (they don’t want smart/lazy people) but your test will have value too.