Advice for the Unlikely Admit?

<p>Hello!</p>

<p>I am a transfer student who was recently offered an acceptance. To be honest, I was not expecting this. The best I was expecting was a postponement. I am obviously beyond happy to be given this opportunity, but I now have to deal with some unexpected issues. And so, I have a few questions:</p>

<ol>
<li><p>I have read somewhere on the UW website that financial aid for a spring semester transfer could be lower due to some reason. As financial aid will be my primary source of income(until I find a local job), how much of a decrease should I expect?</p></li>
<li><p>Is there enough time between now and the first day of the next semester to apply, and also be awarded any scholarships? Any other need-based aid available besides work-study or the usual federal loans/grants?</p></li>
<li><p>Can anyone offer any advice for cheap housing options, one bedroom and dog allowed?</p></li>
<li><p>I have a car. Not a great one, but it works. Would you recommend I keep it and pay for parking or to just sell it? Would it be worth having and paying for?</p></li>
</ol>

<p>Any other advice is extremely welcome and would be appreciated.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Have you used the net price calculator on UW’s financial aid website? Take half of those amounts to obtain an estimate of aid for one semester.</p>

<p>Are you a Wisconsin resident? Are you under 24? What is your 2014-2015 EFC?</p>

<p>UW grad eons ago and parent of recent UW grad here.</p>