Ap Courses

Hello
I’m a junior in high school and have some problems in my mind:

1. I really want to get accepted into UCSB or UCLA but I don’t know how many Ap courses to take.
  2. In my school they have Ap and Ib, so I was thinking that if I should do AP for my junior years, and Ib for senior.
  3. And if possible, how can I get a scholarship?

I’m very new to these kind of things.

Also what are the course requirements that I should take to make sure I get accepted?

And are honour classes an aid to getting accepted?

Are you going to be a junior this year or did you already finish your junior year? The UCs look at courses taken all four years of high school to make sure you have fulfilled all of the a-g requirements. However, they only use grades from the summer before 10th grade until the summer after 11th grade when calculating GPA.

https://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/counselors/freshman/minimum-requirements/

Do you live in California or are you from out of state?

Have you already taken your SAT and/or ACT exam?

No colleges have recommendations of the # of AP classes, but for schools like UCLA and UCSB, you want to take a rigorous course load all 4 years. How that translates into the # of AP’s or the IB program at your HS is dependent upon what your Guidance counselors will consider a rigorous course load. AP’s or IB’s are only one piece of the UC application review. What is most important is your UC GPA’s (unweighted, capped weighted and fully weighted) at the end of Junior year, your ACT/SAT test scores, SAT II subject test scores, personal insight essays and EC’s. Also intended major can have a large impact on your chances.

You need to meet the a-g course requirements listed below and beyond meaning just meeting the 15 courses will make you eligible to apply to the UC’s but will not necessarily get you in.

The minimum sequence of A-G courses you need to complete are:

(a) History/Social Science 2 years*
(b) Language Arts (English) 4 years