Ask a current student!

<p>Hi all, I'm a freshman at UW-Madison currently and I'm willing to answer any questions you may have! I live in Witte (for the moment...I'm trying to get a dorm change, but I do have a semester of experience here), I'm a psychology major, I'm active in Greek life, and I know a lot about the social life here. I have lots of friends in different dorms so I know a lot about that as well. I recognize I'm just one student with one perspective, but I think I'm a pretty good representation of the average student. So ask if you have any questions! :)</p>

<p>This is probably a really dumb question, and one I could find on wisco’s website, but is a chemistry class required for undergrads? Are there other options available to those of us who are terrible at chem?</p>

<p>Chem is NOT required :slight_smile: One of the great things about Madison is that there are so many options for every requirement. You do have to get something like six credits in physical science, but you could do something like physics or they even have BS-ish classes like studying gems if you’re not that science-y. You can even fulfill your math requirements with philosophy!</p>

<p>Many, many students do take chem though, I think it’s something many freshmen are under the impression they have to take, and advisors will put you in it if you don’t know what you want to do, since it does give you a lot of options. It’s a good class to take, I’m sure it’s helpful, but since I hate science I will probably skip chem as it is so much work and time and I’m horrible at it.</p>

<p>Why are you trying to switch dorms? I am planning to request sellery and witte as my top choices because of the social/freshman aspect.</p>